Now we are in the middle of lambing season it’s appropriate that work has started on the coin for the lunar year of the sheep for the Royal Mint. While official designs are top secret (new code name: lamb chops), I can show you a couple of prints I made on the theme to help me warm up. They were made from memory from all those hours lambing as a vet student. This was chiefly hours of waiting and watching for something to happen from a dark cold shed in the pre-internet days, where I passed the time by drawing sheep in labour… I enjoyed the lambing, and was always amazed by how those brand new baby lambs could gallop minutes after they were born…

sheep_duo_esheep_shadow_scan_e

sheep_trio_e

I think the last one explores what it might be like to be a single mum with twins!

 

