Well, after a long period of silence, I can finally say that I’ve been designing coins for the Royal Mint. The first ever Lunar calendar series of coins for the UK were launched today with these versions in solid silver and gold. The designs started off as linocuts; I had to code-name the project My Little Pony on account of having to work in a communal studio and not wanting to raise too much attention to this diversion from my usual themes…

lunar_hors_design_eOn a trip to the Royal Mint I saw how skilled engravers carve the design into plaster by making a mirror image and inversely deep image of the original pattern. They then rework the models in very low relief, and finally reduce the image down to the correct size. I couldn’t believe how much labour and skill is involved throughout the process.

lunar_horse_eFor more information, or to buy your very own copy- please see the Royal Mint website or this website for daily coin collecting news. I would love to say I have tons of free samples, but sadly no, not yet! Now for the next challenge: 11 more animals in the series…

