Well, I thought it would be nice to make some prints that capture the feeling of a magical forest, much like parts of the glorious forest in Oregon that I’ve visited. For me these forests are always warm with dappled light; fronds and branches gently swaying; bark exuding a delicious resiny scent and crystals of sap that sparkle like diamonds.

Image

So for my upcoming show, Beyond the Moon, in Aberystwyth, I thought I’d make work that conveys the atmosphere of this unending forest. Seeing as the gallery is large, I thought I’d make some ginormous prints! Each print is 2metres by 1.5 metres, and silkscreened by hand in  four sections onto Fabriano paper. The trees fit together but the mirrored trees feel more enchanted… I’m planning to silkscreen these also onto window film and install it on the doors to the gallery space.

Last week I met Andrew McPherson, the magnetic resonator piano guy, who is truly a master of amazing sound. His device makes a normal grand piano sound like a cross between something like a piano, organ and flute, with cyclical reverberations, and notes that hum from deep darkness. He’s keen to come to the gallery and respond to the prints during the installation process. This will be fed into the various devices attached to the piano, to make a customised loop of sound. I’m really looking forward to hearing more.

Show opens next Friday 23rd November at 7.30 pm. We’ll give a talk about the work on the Thursday night. For more information please contact the curator, Neil Holland, on neh@aber.ac.uk

Will post more pictures and hopefully a video here soon!

