In December, I decided to award myself a fictional mini residency in East London Printmakers (the studio where I am usually technician and teacher) and spent 9 solid days in December making new prints as a response to those created in August. These are inspired by photos from the Crow’s Shadow archives which depict members of the confederated tribes of the Umatilla from the past hundred years. What I am interested in is the way clothes are like a sort of skin or mask to the body, concealing as well as revealing history and attitude. My mask prints of the past couple of years have also been exploring identity; now this series removes the facial features from individuals altogether.

These are vinyl relief prints printed with sakura oil based black ink on imperial sized somerset satin paper.

The work will be displayed in a solo show coming up in West Yorkshire Print Workshop in mid Feb to late March. I’ve decided to call the show Chasing Tales.

